The Chakras

Conscious TV

September 28, 2020

According to Eastern alternative medicine, our bodies are not only physical mass, they are also energy and the correct flow of this energy is what keeps people healthy. On the contrary, when there are blockages, different diseases occur, depending on where it happens.

Chakras are energy centres located from the base of the torso to the top of the skull and are responsible for allowing the flow of energy. When one is blocked, it closes the passage as if it were a dam that prevents the flow of the river from continuing along its traditional course.

The energy flows upwards from the root at the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

There are 7 chakras:

  • Muladhara Chakra: is the root chakra and is located in the perineum.
    • Element: earth
    • Mantra: lam
    • Affects: sense of security and belongingness
  • Swadhisthana Chakra: located in the sacral bone
    • Element: water
    • Mantra: vam
    • Affects: sexuality
  • Manipura Chakra: located at the navel
    • Element: fire
    • Mantra: ram
    • Affects: sense of power and self-esteem
  • Anahat Chakra: is the heart chakra and is located between the lungs.
    • Element: air
    • Mantra: iam
    • Affects: love, devotion and service to others
  • Vishuda Chakra: located at the throat
    • Element: ether
    • Mantra: jam
    • Affects: communication and charisma and expression
  • Ajna Chakra: is the third eye and is located between the eyebrows.
    • Element: light
    • Mantra: ksham or OM
    • Affects: intuition
  • Sahasrara Chakra: located at the crown of the head. It is considered by some to be the most important and is called the flower of a thousand petals.
    • Element: Space
    • Mantra: OM
    • Affects: transcendence and spirituality.